SQL Server Job/Volunteer

• I am in the process of changing my career. I completed my sql server training. I've practiced a lot and am now available to start my new career but the problem is i'm not finding any entry level job. I like the DBA role. I am ready to volunteer too but could not able to find one. I have basic (book) knowledge and working on my machine but not the real world scnaerios. I've read through security, mirroring, log shipping, filegroups, policy based management, bacup/recovery, index design and maintenance, DBCC commands, DMV's, sql profiler, DTA etc. I believe I need a little help on my first step. Can anyone let me know where and how can I find/start as Jr. DBA. If anyone need any extra help please let me know. I'm willing to travel anywhere in US.

Thank you

• Get in touch with your local Sql Server user groups.

• Check for the Entry Level Jobs in the Jobs board like Dice.com, CareerBuilder.com and Indeed.com etc.. You will definitely find one.

Thank You,

Best Regards,

SQLBuddy

• Not only for DBA but in any field getting first break is difficult but not impossible.

So be focused and have patience & faith; do not give up. You will get one soon.

HTH

---------------------------------------------------
    "Thare are only 10 types of people in the world:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't."

• I agree with HTH, i know it could be challenging because DBA job is comparitively a higher rated job.

Becuase you would be managing some company's customer data may be.

So, just believe in yourself, try to look for jobs on some jobs site. try to get in touch with some job consutants may be they can help you.

But just a remark, pls. never play with production data in your job role because i have seen many Jr. DBA start playing on production enviorments to learn something new and pay a huge penalty .

All the best...