SQL Server uses large amout of memory........

• We are using SQL Server 2005 on Windows 2003 servers. i have noticed that since many days my SQL Server memory usage is been increasing to upto 65%. and i know that SQL Server is using all those memory. Does anybody have any idea from where do i start to investigate and how to resolve this? Step by step details is needed since i am a newbie. or anythig you all have is ok.

Thanks

• Other than the above are you experiencing any other problems?

• No other problems. Its SQL Server who is consuming all those memory, because after hours my CPU usage is almost 1-2%. But increases in day time.

• Based on this, I don't think you have a problem.

Couple of questions however. What version of SQL Server 2005 are you running (including CPU type, x32 or x64), how much memory does the server have, and how much memory is SQL Server configured to use (min and max).

• I have :-

SQL Version :- 9.00.3239.00 (MS SQL Server Enterprise Edition (64 bit)

CPU type:- x64

Memory :- 32763 MB

Minimum server memory (in MB) :- 0

Maximum server memory (in MB) :- 31000

• Based on this info, I really don't think you have a problem. SQL Server will use as much memory as it needs to do its job constrained by the max memory allowed.

• It will release memory to the OS if there is pressure, albeit slowly.

If you want SQL to use less, set a max limit that's lower. Otherwise, ignore it. SQL is designed to continue to grab memory as it can. Even if it's not busy, it will store data in memory as a cache, in anticipation of using it again.

• Isnt it a Rule of Thumb that you leave 10% of the total Memory to the OS and the rest for SQL Server?

-Roy

• Roy Ernest (9/21/2009)

Isnt it a Rule of Thumb that you leave 10% of the total Memory to the OS and the rest for SQL Server?

Not really, it used to be 75% given to SQL. normally you would leave minimum of about 2-3 GB to the OS, depending on if it was a dedicated sql box or not.