SQL table dynamic creation

• Let me preface this with I am a beginner with SSIS with limited knowledge of T-SQL that has been tasked with the following challenge. Essentially, be able to read multiple flat files from a directory and create a separate SQL table from each file. The flat files and SQL tables will have the same record format and the flat filenames are not known in advance.

My problem is I know vaguely what needs to be done namely using For Each Loop in the Control Flow, but being unfamiliar with the intricacies of SSIS, I need an example to guide me step by step.

Please help because I am the only person with working knowledge of SSIS in our organization and that's not saying much. 🙂

Gerald

• Do all the files have the same format? Is the format known in advance?

• gerald.duncan (6/25/2008)

and create a separate SQL table from each file

[font="Arial Black"]WHY???[/font] :blink: Especially when they all have the same file format...

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.
    "Change is inevitable... change for the better is not".

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)
    Intro to Tally Tables and Functions

• Yes the flat files and SQL tables all have the same format. I've been able to create a package which reads and loads the flat files to a single SQL table. My goal is to create a table for each flat file. The part that I haven't been able to figure out is the setting of the variable in the OLE DB destination editor. When I give the variable a default value, I don't get an evaluation error, but get a runtime Openrowset error.

If someone has experience using a variable in the OLE DB destination, I would appreciate your assistance.