SSAS, SSIS, SSRS are all missing!!

• Hi Guys,

I am new to SQL! Please help me here.

I am using SQL 2005 Standard Ed, and I clearly remember that I have included all the components of SSAS, SSIS, SSRS while installing SQL 2005 on my standalone Vista laptop.

But when I open SQL Server Mgmt Studio, instances of SSAS, SSIS, SSRS are all missing, only the Database Engine instance available for me to connect.

The "Server Name" drop down box is available for Database Engine only.

Do you know why SSAS, SSIS, SSRS instances are all missing? Can I create or install them so that I can connect???

many thanks

Pilypala

• I would suggest going to add/remove programs and select SQLServer and have your discs ready. Be sure when you come to the options page you specifically select SSis, etc. Also, be sure you are not working with an express version which does not have any of the SSxS packages.

• So what happens after you connect to a database? Are you talking about the "server type" drop down in the 'connect to server' dialog?

• "Server Type" drop down list shows all the services names.

But "Server Name" drop down list only shows "Database Engine" is available.

• Sorry, but that doesn't make sense. The Server Type is where the Database Engine, Analysis Engine, Report Engine, Integration Services are listed. The Server Name should have the names of your servers. The way I understand it, the Server Type drop down only mentions Database Engine. That would indicate the other engines are not installed. Are you running Express edition of SQL? If so, nothing but the Database Engine can be installed or used.

• No, I am using Standard Ed SQL 2005. All BI components are fully selected while installing.

I know it sounds really odd... any idea??

• Are you sure you managed to install Reporting Services on Vista? I dont think that will work....