SSIS - importing flat files - how to specify date format

• Hi

I'm new to SSIS and have been climbing the steep side of the learning curve...

I have built a file loader which imports a few dozen .csv files each day into a MSSQL database table, and generally it works ok.

My only problem remaining is how SSIS interprets dates in the .csv file. My data is mm-dd-yyyy, and SSIS is interpreting it as dd-mm-yyyy

How do I enforce the interpretation to be mm-dd-yyyy? ( I assume this is set at the point you read the data.. is that correct?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Well i'm still working at this...

I have a date in the format of mm-dd-yyyy and I need to put it in to a date or datetime field. After reading other peoples posts I have tried again.. :doze: to use a data conversion node.

In the expression field I have added this: CONVERT([ACCT_START],105).

And I now get this:

[font="Courier New"]Error at load cust extract data [Derived Column [4676]]: The function "CONVERT" was not recognized. Either the function name is incorrect or does not exist.

Error at load cust extract data [Derived Column [4676]]: Attempt to parse the expression "CONVERT([ACCT_START],105)" failed and returned error code 0xC004708A. The expression cannot be parsed. It might contain invalid elements or it might not be well-formed. There may also be an out-of-memory error.... [/font]

I would have thought that a basic convert function that works in SQL would also work in SSIS. Apparently not.

• Well I must say I am now completely underwhelmed with SSIS.

I couldn't get past the varchar to unicode conversion thing so I have dropped my table and recreated in with varchars instead pof nvarchars.

Now instead of handling dates properly I have gone back to the person who is producing the .csv files and asked them to change the date format in the PL/SQL script producing the data. (which took them about 2 minutes.)