SSIS question

• Ive been given the task of automating the execution of an existing SSIS package. Im going to schedule a job on sql server to run the package once a month. Im pretty new to SSIS and have a few questions.

Some of the steps inside the package invloves the transfer of data from supplied .mdb files. These files have different names depending on the month they are for

eg 080209.mdb, 08032009.mdb

This name format should be consistant, but the dates will be different depending on which month im processing eg 08032009.mdb will be the next months file

At the moment the SSIS package is run manually and the contents changed to reflect the file being processed. In order to automate this, id need to use a variable which id determine from the system date (I think !)

so If was was processing the file in February, id need some way to 'create' the name of the file inside the package, i could then use that to load up the appropriate .mdb file

something like

ProcessFileName = FormatForfileName(date.now) + '.mdb'

this should give me a result of '08022009.mdb' (or whatever day/month/year was the current date)

Id then use that name for the name of the .mdb file in the the OLE DB Source object.

There are several files involved in this process, but they all have a consistent naming convention that includes the date.

So when I look at the details of an OLE DB Source object, it specifies the OLE DB Connection manager (which is the name of the .mdb file id be dynamically creating)

It will always be a table and the table name will always be the same for that particular OLE DB Source object.

As I said, Im a complete newbie to SSIS, so any help/pointers/resources would be greatly appreciated.

• Hi there,

Add a Foreach loop container to your package and place the Data Flow task inside it.

Configure the Foreach loop:

- Collection Enumerator: Foreach File Enumerator

- Specify the location of the folder that contains the .mdb files