SSIS: Select Query on multiple databases.

• Hi,

I am new in SSIS and seeking help to fatch data from tables on multiple DB's. I want to do this in SSIS package.Can any one suggest that how to apply Join operations on multiple databases in task in SSIS.

The scenario is like this:

we have 2 databases like db1 and db2 where we have 2 tables like db1..tbl1 and db2..tbl2 on diffrent server. I need to apply join on db1..tbl1 and db2..tbl2.

Something like this

Select tbl1.Col1, tbl2.Col1

From db1..tbl1 AS tbl1 INNER JOIN db2..tbl2 AS tbl2

WHERE tbl1.Col2 = tbl2.col2

thanks for help in advance.

• If the databases are on the same instance, then use four-part naming to refer to the tables that you need in your join.

If the dbs are on different servers, then set up a linked server and then use the four-part name to refer to the object.

If you can't make changes to the server, then you could always setup seperated data-sources for each databsae in SSIS and join the data as part of the SSIS transformation. This way would not be as quick as using four-part names and joins..

• Hi steveb,

Thanks for your quick responce. The DB's (DB1 and DB2) are not on the same instance also I don't have permission for creating linked server.

I can fire only select query on DB2.

• You can use a merge join transformation in a data flow. Both inputs to the merge join need to be sorted.

Create connection managers for DB1 and DB2 and create data sources for both. If you use a select statement with an order by in each data source you can go to the data source advanced editor and identify the columns and their sort order. This is usually more efficient than using the SSIS sort task.

Then go back to the merge join transformation and identify the columns to join on and the desired output columns, and map the output to your destination.

This article uses flat files as an example but the concept is the same:

http://www.mssqltips.com/tip.asp?tip=1322