SSRS issues with exporting

• Let me start by saying that I am new to SSRS.  I inherited this and am trying to solve some weird issues I am seeing with it.

The server is a VM with 32 GB RAM.  The SQL version is SQL 2012 SP3 and the OS is Windows Server 2012 R2.  SQL Server is set to use a MAX of 21 GB.  So that should leave 11 GB for the SSRS and OS.  

The issue is that after the server has been running awhile, it slows down and starts acting weird.  Today it would not export a report to Excel about 3/4 ths of the time.  After we restarted the SSRS service, it worked fine again.  Checking the SQL error logs, it did not seem to the issue.

Looking at the rsreportserver.config file on the server I see this.

<MemorySafetyMargin>80</MemorySafetyMargin>
         <MemoryThreshold>90</MemoryThreshold>
         <WorkingSetMaximum>25165824</WorkingSetMaximum>

So the way I read this is that the SSRS config file is setting the max working memory to 24 GB (I am assuming that it is set in kilobytes).  According to BOL that means it will keep taking requests until that limit is hit, which is never since on 11 GB is left.  Am I reading that correctly?

I have a process running that tracks memory usage for the server and it was down to 1,734 MB right before we restarted the SSRS service.  Then it went backup up to about 4 GB free.  My guess is that this is a memory issue and SSRS needs more memory, but I need to be sure I am right before I suggest adding memory to try to fix this.  Normally how much memory does SSRS need to run smoothly?  The environment is pretty report heavy with users and automatic reports running constantly.  Can anyone recommend a good blog or book to help me wade through this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!!!

Jim