Standard versus Enterprise

• Hi,

I'm currently a fairly new DBA.  I have around 50 Databases anywhere between 20Mb and 24Gb per database.  I'm trying to convince my CEO and IT GM that we should have SQL enterprise.

Can someone give me some reasons why Standard SQL is not good enough compared to Enterprise SQL when around 20 of the DB's are critical to the business, apart from clustering?

Thanks for your help.

Thanks,

Kris

• Hi Kris!

There are some differences between the two, but not that much. You have i.e. log-shipping in enterprise edition and:

Enterprise: 32 processors, 64 gb memory

Standard: 4 processors, 2 gb memory

Both edition has a maximum dbsize of 1,048,516 terabytes.

Have a look at Microsoft for spec.

http://www.microsoft.com/sql/evaluation/overview/default.asp

If not using any of the functions in enterprise, and I have max 4procs and 2gb memory, I would personally stick to standard edition.

Maybe not the answer you looked for

robbac
    ___the truth is out there___

• The enterprise edition is one hell of a lot of money for......not really that much unless you are into major league stuff.

I would work out precisely what it is that you want to do with the features of the Enterprise edition.

• Do you need more than 2Gb RAM?
    • Are you going to be getting involved in clustering?
    • Indexed views?
    • Log shipping (although it is not that hard to roll your own)?

If you are looking at it from a "gain experience" perspective then consider getting and additional development edition.  Basically a throttled back Enterprise edition with all the features but a cap on the number of users/performance.

• Thanks for that.

These are also the only reasons I found, I just thought there had to be more to it considering the cost involved.

The main two issues I was looking at it was redundancy and memory.