Storage Area Network & SQL Server

• I'm relatively new to SQL Server with about a year of development and DBA experience, and I'm now faced with giving recommendations on the best setup for a production system on a Storage Area Network.

Have any of you had experience in this area and if so do you know of any good resources I can get my hands on (web, books etc) which may help me out?

I guess my basic aim is to ensure that I get the best performance in this environment in regard to the DB datafiles (including tempdb as it is used quite a bit).

Any hints or possible areas I can look would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Jim

• Who is your hardware vendor for both your servers and the SAN itself?

K. Brian Kelley

http://www.truthsolutions.com/

Author: Start to Finish Guide to SQL Server Performance Monitoring

http://www.netimpress.com/shop/product.asp?ProductID=NI-SQL1

K. Brian Kelley
    @kbriankelley

• We have a Compaq SAN for some other items, but not the dbs. I have spoken recently to MS on another issue, a server with fiber channel disks, and they mentioend this is essentially a SAN. They have some problems with SANs as databases, mainly because of network connectivity, so I'd look into this and perhaps have a separate backplane for servers only to reduce and network contention. We are also considering this for future DBs, and working with Compaq/HP, but the technology is still maturing.

Steve Jones

sjones@sqlservercentral.com

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/sjones

• We have been running SQL Server in data center and database in Compaq SAN for two years. Initialiy, There were some problems in SAN and mostly related to the hardware, improper configuration and registry. By working with Compaq, most issues have been resloved with various patchs.

It is really not much difference using SAN for databases in our environment because the SAN is dedictaed to be used by one large database only.