Store Big Data in Server from Application

• Hi,

we build an application with an underlying sql server. The interface between application and sql server shall exist of stored procedures, so that the application developer won't have to know how the server stores the data.

So far so good, but I think there will be a performance issue if a stored procedure will be called 1Mio times to store 1Mio records. My question is, how to pass a variable with a whole data structure to a procedure or is there a better concept to handle this?

thx

Tobias

• I'm still a newbie but...

my understanding is that stored procedures are the fastest way to maintain a database

that being said, it is possible to build a dataset (in .NET) and write it to XML - and then use that XML file to update a table

but is that way any faster?

• Perhaps I would add another layer between programmer and database, or at least helper class that would take this one million of objects, convert them to XML and called a proc with xml parameter. You could use that xml within stored proc to insert data to structures you have in DB.

This is IMO the easiest and fastest way to store huge amounts of data.

Piotr

...and your only reply is slàinte mhath

• Everyone else has already said it, but I can expand a bit. XML is the answer. You want to look at ALL your database processes from the approach of working in sets of data, not indvidual rows & columns.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• I'm sure I'll get yelled at by someone for this post...

Don't be too bound on the "Stored Procedures are the only way" approach.