Stored Procedures

• Hi, I'm new to SQL and new to the forum. I have a stored procedure and have executed it.. I understand that once a stored procedure is executed it shoud go into the Programmability/Stored Procedures file. For some reason mine dont appear tp be going there. when I try to execute them again it tells me that the file name already exists. cam someone tell me what is/could be going on. I've tried refreshing the file but that didn't fix the problem!

• Can you please post your actual code?

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• Thanks for you reply, but I managed to sort it out! The procedure was executing but it was going into the master DB rather that one I specified. I was informed that by selecting the DB it would go to the right one, clearly not true!

• execute sp_helptext 'ProcedureName' to get the script for Procedure

• da.drew (5/26/2009)

I was informed that by selecting the DB it would go to the right one, clearly not true!

Definitely not true.

The DB selected in object explorer is not related to the DB that the query window is using. There's a drop down box at the top of the query window with a list of databases. The selected one is the one that your query is running in the context of

Or, if you have any USE statement in the query, the database specified in the USE statement will be the one that all queries after that run under.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Start making it a habit to place a use statement before your create/alter statements for all objects. It will save you a lot of hassle in the future.

For example:

USE MyNewDatabase;

GO