Strange order for returned records, suddenly

• Hello,

I have an issue that just started, and I do not know why. I have created a set of tables that I populate with data that gets sent to other systems (outside the organization). These files need to have a first row that contains the column name (as defined by the external organization). The process that I have been using has worked for several months, but suddenly is returning data in the wrong order. The code is like this:

Table:

[field1] varchar(256)

[field2] varchar(256)

[fieldX] varchar(256)

The process that I am using is:

delete from Table

insert into Table

Select

'ColName1',

'ColName2',

'ColNameX'

Insert into Table

select * from datasource

Previously, when I subsequently did a SELECT on the table, I would get:

ColName1,ColName2,....ColNameX

a,b,.....X

b,b,.....X

c,b,.....X

etc.

Now, I am receiving:

a,b,.....X

b,b,.....X

ColName1,ColName2,....ColNameX

c,b,.....X

where the "header" row is basically at random rows in the file.

There is no identity column, and no order by clause.

What would cause the functioning to change, and how can I retrieve the records from the table(s) in the order in which they were placed into the table?

PS. I know that there is probably a better way to do this using SSIS, but had to get data out of the system in a very limisted amount of time, and so I ended up doing this and using BCP to copy it out to disk. I DO plan on re-engineering the process, but am still pretty new at SQL server functionality, coming from a midrange platform and being self-trained.

• The only way to ensure order is to use an order by clause. This may mean you need to add an identity column to the tables to ensure that the column headers are the first records in the tables.

• As Lynn wrote, you need an ORDER BY clause. There is no guarantee of ordering at all, from one execution to the next, of the rows returned without that clause.