syntax error???

• Hi,

Getting a syntax error on the following..

INSERT INTO @TEMPTABLE(TAG_NAME,TAG_DATA)

SELECT TAG_NAME = 'CUST_AGE', TAG_DATA = (SELECT FLOOR(DATEDIFF(day, BDate, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP) / 365.25))FROM client

WHERE Client.OID =@CLIENT_OID);

any help would be great..

Thanks

Joe

• jbalbo (1/11/2012)

Hi,

SELECT TAG_NAME = 'CUST_AGE', TAG_DATA = (SELECT FLOOR(DATEDIFF(day, BDate, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP) / 365.25))FROM client

any help would be great..

Thanks

Joe

Not really a need to do a sub-select query:

SELECT 'CUST_AGE', FLOOR(DATEDIFF(day, BDate, GETDATE()) / 365.25)

FROM client

WHERE OID =@CLIENT_OID;

• thanks that works great...

hate to be a pain I really am new, can u explain why that is, just so I know?

Thanks

• jbalbo (1/11/2012)

thanks that works great...

hate to be a pain I really am new, can u explain why that is, just so I know?

Thanks

lol I am no expert either, any even the best of the best will never claim to be. Let me try, but if it is not a good description hopefully one of the better posters will join in and give me a hand

--The first thing is that you already declared the order in which data will be inserted into the table.

--So no need to declaratively state what the value is for each column.

--(originally you had TAG_NAME='CUST_AGE', etc, which isn't necessary)

--Next, when inserting data you can INSERT specific values or from tables like a regular SELECT statement

SELECT 'CUST_AGE', FLOOR(DATEDIFF(day, BDate, GETDATE()) / 365.25)

FROM client

--To see how this works remove your where clause

--If you did not have the where clause below, it would insert a row into @TEMPTABLE

--for every BDate value in client table

WHERE OID =@CLIENT_OID;

• thats a good explaination..

Im putting it on my Fridge!!

• jbalbo (1/11/2012)

Hi,

SELECT TAG_NAME = 'CUST_AGE',

TAG_DATA = (SELECT FLOOR(DATEDIFF(day, BDate, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP) / 365.25))

FROM client