T-SQL book recommendation

• Hi, would someone out there provide me the name of a T-SQL book (SQL Server 2000) that they've found to be relevant to typical everyday queries. I'm a junior-intermediate DBA who's trying to improve upon his SQL skills. Ideally I'd like a book that has numerous exercises to work through.

Appreciate any help.

thanks .. brad

• I just bought "The Guru's Guide to Transact-SQL" by Ken Henderson which is very good. I have "Advanced Transact-SQL for SQL Server 2000" by Itzik Ben-Gan & Tom Moreau on my amazon wish list because I've heard really good things about it.

• Those are good suggestions.

Also, take a look at the following

Both of the T-SQL books by Joe Celko.

Transact-SQL Programming

by Lee Gould, Andrew Zanevsky, Kevin Kline

SQL Server 2000 Programming by Example

by Carlos Rojas, Fernando Guerrero

Professional SQL Server 2000 Programming

by Robert Vieira

Hope this helps

Phill Carter

--------------------

Colt 45 - the original point and click interface

--------------------
    Colt 45 - the original point and click interface

• I am finding that the "The Best of SQLSeverCentral.com 2002" book to be of great value -- and by buying it you can show your support for this site too.

Arden

• Responding to your question about examples to work thru -- I found Joe Celko's "SQL Puzzles and Answers" will give your brain a good workout -- it also gives more than one answer to many of the puzzles. Only 26 bucks and probably less used...

Arden

• If you're looking for T-SQL books I really like the Henderson book mentioned above. Also the Itzik Ben-Gan & Tom Moreau book is, of cource T-SQL specific.

OPTIMIZING TRANSACT SQL by David Rozenshtein et al. (I must admit I got this because of its statistical and financial stuff for my profession)

Celko is more ANSI SQL related and maybe more academical oriented, but nonetheless have I become a fan of 'SQL for Smarties'

Here are some other ones not so T-SQL related: