Table load

• I need help!!! Despirately! I am going out of my mind trying to figure out how to load data from 3 tables in different databases into one database and table. There is a key in common - Site no. and when I attempt to load using a union-all transformation it will load the data from each of the tables sequentially one after the other not merged. I was looking at the merge join transformation and can't get it to work. I was wondering what I am doing wrong and what I need to do to get this done? I really appreciate your help and look forward to hearing any suggestions as I am somewhat new to SQL!! Thanks again!!!

• Have u tried Union instead of Union All

• Union all should work fine. Union vs. union all is really not the answer, since if one doesn't merge, the other wouldn't merge either.

Check out your SQL code. I would bet that the SQL syntax that you are using in your UNION ALL operation is incorrect.

If you wish, post the query here so we could take a look.

Editor's Note: : Dr. Omri Bahat works for SQLFarms, a software vendor of SQL Server tools.

• It sounds to me that you do not want a union?  If you "union" three tables together, you will get what you have described:  All three tables sequentially.  If that is not what you want, then explain what it is that you do want.

Are you concerned with the order of the rows?

• Thanks for your answers!!! I am using the union all transformation. No code just the SSIS tool. I want to combine selected columns from the three tables into one table. Each table has the same key, site no., and I was thinking I could draw matching columns based on this key out of each table. I hope this clarifies things. Please let me know if you need further info. Thanks again for your assistance!

• Sorry, but I don't have SQL2005 available in front of me at the moment.