The Most Important SQL DBA Areas

• (Wasn't sure where else to post this...)

I've been working with SQL since 2000 in one way or another but have only been a full-time DBA for a short time. There is such a wide array of knowledge and skills to keep on top of that I find it difficult to pick the most important things to study and track with the limited time I have.

What I'd like to know is what are the top 20% of things that will cover 80% of the situations I'm likely to encounter? We have a lot of people on here with a ton of experience and I'm hoping to get some feedback from people who've been in the trenches for a while.

I recently sent somebody in a sys admin role this article http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc671165.aspx by Paul Randal. Here are the things he lists:

* Managing data and transaction log files

* Eliminating index fragmentation

* Ensuring accurate, up-to-date statistics

* Detecting corrupted database pages

* Establishing an effective backup strategy

I think this is a great list. It seems to me that in addition to this list, a DBA has to be skilled in:

* Staying on top of security and applying patches/updates

What else though?

Thanks,

Rob

• That's a good list and gets you most of the way there. I'd add some good T-SQL knowledge for writing reports. Seems like those come up constantly and there are always needs to summarize data in some way. If you can get SSRS running, then you can build nice looking reports.

Tuning queries is something worth looking into as well. Grant Fritchey's book (promoted in the newsletters ads from this site) and Itzik Ben-Gan's book on T-SQL (Inside SQL Server series) are two I'd recommend.

• The only thing I'd add to the "must have" list is:

a method for monitoring performance

a process for updating structures/code/procedures based on performance monitoring

If you do what you listed and the above, more often than not, you've got the bases covered.