Third Party Backup - Asigra - experience

• Out infrastructure department is looking at using Asigra backup software for use in backing up our servers. This would include our SQL servers.

In the past we have looked at some third party backup software tools, but have always reverted to using the native SQL Server backups for full and transaction log backups.

Has anyone experience with using the Asigra SQL Server backup software? What good points/advantages/disadvantages/problems have you encountered?

Thanks

• I have no experience with Asigra at all, but I'm a fan of using native SQL backups. That's what we use and they haven't failed me yet.

• Ed Wagner (4/10/2016)

I have no experience with Asigra at all, but I'm a fan of using native SQL backups. That's what we use and they haven't failed me yet.

Ditto that. I'll also add that I've found no particular advantage to using 3rd party backup software. The disclaimer there is that I've also not had to maintain a hundred systems like some folks. It may help there but I don't know for sure.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.
    "Change is inevitable... change for the better is not".

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)
    Intro to Tally Tables and Functions

• I also much prefer native backups.

• Also no experience with Asigra backup.