Transaction log full

• I am a newbie. Matter most urgent. Can anyone tell me how to backup a transcation log. I am getting the error maessage log full, backup the transaction log. Any help would be appreciated very much.

Thanks in advance

• DBCC SHRINKDATABASE('database',10,TRUNCATEONLY)

BACKUP LOG database WITH TRUNCATE_ONLY

• This is very interesting solution , but works only if you have rights for Enterprise manager.

Follow these steps:

1) Right click on desired Database

2) Go to All Task -- Backup

3) Select Transaction log from the options

4) Back up the database as desired location. 

Once the backup has been done you will see that the transaction log has been backed up and the space is freed up.

This is simple and trusted technique.

• If you don't backup you transaction log on a periodic basis you probably should set your database to a recovery model of 'simple' rather than 'full' so that the transaction log does need backups

Francis

• It's not quite as simple as just changing the recovery model to SIMPLE to avoid doing backups. "FULL" recovery allows you to recover lost or corrupted data from a point in time between your full backups. "SIMPLE" does not give you that ability, you're limited to the last full backup. Consider the importance of each particular database to determine the best backup strategy for each DB. There are thousands of posts on this topic for more detailed info .... as well as Books Online (BOL).