Trouble with getting FileName from .pdf file

• Hello All,

This is what i have to do:

1. Read about a few thousand .pdf files

2. Store their FileName in a SQL Table

3. Run a few queries to look them against a database

4. Move them in the end to a different folder.

I have limited experience using SSIS, however the last 2 steps are fairly easy.

I tried implementing according to what the author mentioned here in this article:

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Integration+Services+%28SSIS%29/67871/

However it fails because of the number of files, i am only successful in reading one file.

This is what i have done:

1. Foreach Loop to look into the folder.

a. Retrieve file name using Name and extension

b. Variable(MyFileValue) Value - *.pdf

2. Use a script in the foreach loop to get the file name

Public Sub Main()

Dts.Variables("MyFileValue").Value = System.IO.Path.GetFileName(Dts.Variables("MyFileValue").Value.ToString())

Dts.TaskResult = Dts.Results.Success

End Sub

3. Use a Dataflow task - And this is where i am confused, how do i add a variable as an input.

I am using a Derived Column to capture the information and OLE DB Destination thereafter.

As you can tell i am confused, any help would be appreciated.

• Are you using a flat file source?

You need to go into the Expressions section for the flat file source and set the file name/path to your file-path variable using an Expression. Then your loop should work - depending on what is in your dataflow. If there is anything in there which is file-format dependent and all of the files are not in this format, you will get errors.

At this point you should probably also set DelayValidation to true for the flat file source.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.