TSQL stored procedure, User roles, best design approach ?

• I wish to discuss TSQL stored procedure logic setup with different user roles.

I am a SQL server newbie getting to grips with user roles and writing TSQL for users and report tables.

In MS access I have all users setup as ADMIN and use passwords  and form protection techniques to protect the code.

The ADMIN role allows all users to SELECT, INSERT, DELETE, UPDATE.

I have built many base tables to be used for reports or Excel data dumps with the following logic for all MS Access Users ( ie with the ADMIN Role)

0) DROP any tables created by previous report runs.

1) CREATE TABLE – Set up base table to get data

2) INSERT DATA – Insert data types for comparisons, ie Plans vs Actuals

3) DELETE DATA – Remove any unwanted data

4) CREATE TABLE – Set final reportable that stores all data above but GROUPED

5) INSERT DATA into table created in step4 from table created in step1.

6) SELECT data with joins for presentation to the USER based on USERS WHERE or HAVING instruction.

Lets Jump to SQL server..

The use of ROLES by user is most likely to be more restrictive. Say we have this setup.

Managers – SELECT only

Sales – SELECT only

Developers – SysAdmin privileges ( ALL => SELECT, INSERT, DELETE, UPDATE)

In USER setup shown the Managers and Sales User groups would NOT be allowed to run a TSQL procedure that had the same logic as MS Access as expressed above. These users would only be allowed to run Step 6 of the MS Access report build code.

( On the above the database owner for Step0 to Step5 is dbo, and for Step6 as there is no object creation, so no database owner issue)

So I am trying to understand the best common practice in running the logic for a report of this type.

If this report is required daily, do you set the TSQL logic up to handle step0 to Step5 overnight every evening getting the base table ready, and let the USER select on demand Step6.

Is this best common practise ?