Update Process Very Slow with big table and few updated records

• OK - I am new to SQL Server and have been in Access for years.

Tables - Invoice header - about 8 million records.  One field is an open/closed field - small int.  Open = 1, closed = 0.  I moved from bit to small int due to Access using 1 and Sql Server using -1 for true. 

Other table is the "open invoices" table which has about 175,000 records.

This is not a transactional database, but one for analysis.  Nightly transfer of data via text files. 

So new invoices are moved into the database and they are by definition "open" because they were invoiced that night.  Then during the day customers pay so some of the other 8 million invoices move from open to closed. 

What I had been doing in Access was one process to close all invoices.  Then the next process was to set to open only those records that matched the OpenInvoice table.  This didn't take too long in Access, but it only had a subset of the 8 million invoices.  This is why we are moving to Sql Server, so we can see and query all invoices at once, not one year at a time. 

A similar process in Sql Server is taking about 17 minutes.   Is there any thing I can do to speed it up? 

I had an index on the field "open" but after reading this week's bulletin I saw that Sql doesn't use any index that is basically not close to unique.  And in this case there are 7 million some records marked closed and a handful in comparison marked open.  I was hoping this would take a few seconds, not several minutes.

Simplified table structure - Invoice Header

Invoice - 11 characters

OpenFlag - Small Int

Simplified table structure - Invoice Open

Invoice - 11 characters 

• Do you have any clustered indexes on the tables to prevent fragmentation ?

Does the UPDATE statement join on the "Invoice" column ? If so, is that column indexed in either table ?