Upgrade sql server from sql 2000 to sql 2005

• What's the prerequisite for upgrading from SQL 2000 to SQL 2005?

• Could you expand more on your question? Are you asking for the prerequisites for installing 2005 on a new box or are you asking about migrating databases from sql 2000 to 2005?

If the later then you want to run the SQL Server 2005 Upgrade Advisor which will advise you on steps you need to take before migration of the database.

I have been migrating databases from 2000 to 2005 for the past 4 months, so if you could expand on your question then I'll try and help.

Thanks

-Dave 

• One thing to be wary of when moving databases from SQL 2000 to 2005 is that, if you want to run in full 2005 compatibility mode (level 90) then you may break some of your current stored procedures, as SQL 2005 is stricter about certain things, and neither the database engine nor the Upgrade Advisor will tell you what is affected.

If this possibility is ignored then the testers and/or (shuddder) end users will have to find the issues by trial and error.

To ensure that everything works you need to script out your SQL 2000 database and rebuild it under SQL 2005 - this will expose the stored procedures that no longer compile and you can then implement fixes for them. Therefore, the process you need to follow would be:

1. Script out all objects in the the SQL 2000 database

2. Rebuild the database under a level 90 SQL 2005 instance and note what doesn't compile

3. Fix the issues and rebuild until everything works ok (keep the scripts for the fixed sprocs in a separate folder)

4. Backupo your SQL 2000 database and restore in to the SQL 2005 instance

5. Run all the fixed sprocs against the restored database

This procedure is the most efficient way to ensure that your database isn't broken by the move to 2005.

If you would like to see some tools that can make this a breeze then check out DB Ghost (http://www.dbghost.com).

Malcolm