User Rights - Help!!

• I'm a new SQL Server DBA and need a little help.  I've been trying to change the security of a few databases.  I've been working with one user for the last couple of hours and am at my witts end.  I give the user (using Windows authentication) datawriter and datareader access to database that I am working on and the user can't do anything within the database.  Can't edit, create anything.  (Stored Procs, Views, Functions, etc.)  I'm trying to set this user up as a "developer" type user.  Where he can't change the database design (adding or editing tables, users, etc.)  Like I said above, as soon as I give him datareader and datawriter permisions only, he can't do anything.  Is there something that I'm missing.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

• Hi,

Is this user a member of another group or role? The permissions may be restricted based on his group membership. Did you by any change restrict access by applying db_denydatareader and db_denydatawriter to any SQL server logins that are Windows groups? Like Authenticated Users or Everyone? Don't think it is funny. I had to help somebody with a similar case Friday. Another typical mistake is when you want to give all access to a role and check all checkboxes including 2 at the bottom of the list for db_deny... things.

I would try the following to troubleshoot the issue: give this person db_owner right and check if he can access the db. Give permissions to another Windows login who is not sysadmin If those not-sysadmin people could not connect then there is a Deny somewhere in the role permissions

Yelena

Regards,Yelena Varsha

• Thanks for the quick response.