Users cannot view anything in Reports directory

• Hi there.

I'm quite new to Reporting Services and am trying to get something running without too much effort. I'm trying to show how the product can be very useful to our firm.

I've followed Brian Knight's article on "Designing Your First Report in SQL Server Reporting Services". Possibly the only difference is that I'm using an evaluation version of Reporting Services.

I've installed the server components on machine A and the client components in my machine (machine B). I can create an example report, preview it on my development machine and deploy it to machine B. I can even view it via my browser.

What I cannot seem to do is have another user view it from a browser. When they try it, all they see is the Home page with nothing in it. However, if I ask a collegue to try it (who is also a domain admin), it works.

I have played around with the roles but it doesn't seem to matter.

On machine B, the virtual directory is set up with Windows Integrated security.

What am I missing here? Does a user need to be able to login to machine B for this to work?

• I think that by default  Builtin\Administrators can see the directory.  If the user you wish to view the report is not an administrator, you will need to add either the users 'domain account' to the security for the directory you wish him to view or all Domain users. Depends how open you want the security  to be and give them the browser role.

Hope this helps

Regards

Andrew Barton

• Thanks for the response, Andrew. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to make a difference.

I already had Everyone with Read & Execute, List Folder Contents and Read security permissions on the actual file system directory which my virtual directory points to. I even went ahead and gave my user group Full Control to this same directory. No difference!