Using a Stored Procedure in SSRS Report Builder

• I have a SQL Stored Procedure that works great for one of our applications we use for cost reporting. I want to try and use the same SQL Stored Procedure in an SSRS report.

I am able to copy the the Stored Procedure into Report Builder with no issues, but I can never get any data to pull up. Wondering if edits need to be made to the Stored Procedure for it to work in SSRS? I am new to SSRS coding, etc. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• Can you execute the stored procedure through SSMS? What error message do you get?

• Yes, the Stored Procedure executes successfully in SSMS. When I run it in SSRS, I get no data returned.

• You say "I am able to copy the Stored Procedure into Report Builder " Could you describe how you did that? I would expect to see in the Report Data tab a dataset where the query type was "Stored procedure" and the box below that was populated with the name of the stored procedure you are using

Does the stored procedure have any parameters?

When you run the report, do you get any error messages?

Do you have at least one tablix on the report that you have a column from the stored procedure selected?

• I do not get any errors when I run the report, just blank with no data. See screenshots attached here. Thank you for your help!

ssrs1ssrs2ssrs3

• It sounds like you could be filtering based on domain username, and if you're using impersonation or whatever to run SSRS, then that's getting lost. Strictly conjecture though.

Could you post the WHERE clause for your stored procedure? (I don't think the rest is relevant, since it works when you run it).

• This is the only WHERE statement in the Stored Procedure.

where @JCCo=JCCH.JCCo and JCJP.Job >= @BeginJob and JCJP.Job<=@EndJob