Using Groups to manage privileges in Sql Server 200* R2

• Hi I'm still fairly new to Sql Server 2008 R2 (express) , but am enjoying exploring it.

I have several databases up and running and now a large number of users in each.

But I notice whenever I write a stored procedure I have to go in and add each user to give them permission to exec it. When the user numbers are low its not a problem but I now have over 20 users on 1 database and its becoming tiresome.

I have heard of Active Directory on Windows Server but my database is installed on windows xp professional PC.

Its running well and we don't have a budget to change it.

I've been searching the internet to see if there is some way I can create a group within sql server give the group all the necessary permissions/ privileges and then add the users to that group thereafter...

Sounds simple thing to do but I fear as there is no info in the web bout this is isn't going to be that simple!

Can anyone advise please...

• Hi Tallboy,

I think your best solution is going to be managing security permissions through the creation of database roles:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb669058%28v=vs.110%29.aspx

The following article gives you a little more information on Database roles:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189121(v=sql.105).aspx

You should be able to create a database role and grant it execute permissions to the stored procedure/s. Then you can add users to the database role.

Hope this helps! 🙂

~Steve

• Hi Steve,

Thank you for the prompt reply. I was thinking roles might be the solution, but hadn't looked into it fully.

Cheers for the help.

• Hi Steve,

Interesting read Steve.

I am testing niw on my database.

I have given my users just datareader and datawriter privileges.

Then I intend to create a database role called DB_SPUser with all my stored proc objects and EXEc privilege only.

Then add in the users.

Looking forward to testing with the users on Monday.