Using something other than datetime for dates and times

• I've been working with SQL Server for many years and always have used the datetime (and smalldatetime) built-in types. Like most folks I've occasionally wished for separate datatypes to capture date and time (I understand 2005 was going to have one for time only, but it's been yanked?).

Now I'm managing an application that a team in another location is actually coding. I'm doing the db design, but with a lot of input from them, as they have some experience already in doing this kind of application. They prefer to use char(8) for date (stored in "yyyymmdd" format) and char(4) for time. We both agree we'd like to store times as numbers representing the 24 hour clock, i.e., 0001 to 2400. I think that if we are going to do this, at least smallint is preferable to char(4) for the time. They say that char(4) will be "easier to parse".

I would very much like to hear about other folks' experience using custom types for date and time. Are we about to drive off the cliff? If custom times are OK, then what about smallint vs. char(4) for time?

• Personally I'd say datetime values should always be stored as datetime values. The ease and variety of ways you can split the date portion form the time portion almost makes the case for seperate storage a moot point. In terms of database storage the 8 bytes for datetime beats the 12 bytes for the 2 char fields.

Storing them as char values, how do you perform the many date comparissions? How many days since the last order? How many hours elasped between the helpdesk call being raised and when the issue was resolved, etc..., etc..., etc...

The only way you're going to perform these sort of calculations is to convert the value to a datetime anyway.

--------------------
    Colt 45 - the original point and click interface

• If you don't invest in determining the correct datatype for you attributes/columns, don't even wast time at performance !