Using variable as a comuln name in a select

• I am very new to sql server and am looking for some help.

I am trying to use a variable as a column name in a select. Is this possible?

Example:

declare @objname varchar(50)

set @objname = 'Y00P01'     <----- Y00P01 is the column name in sales table

select @objname

from sales

Thanks.

• Allen - when you want to do something like this you enter into the realms of "dynamic SQL"...to read up on this and why you should try and avoid using it, pl. go to this link - the curse and blessings of dynamic sql

you would essentially have to exec your select like this when you want to use a column as a variable name...

exec('select ' + @objname + ' from myTable')

**ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI !!!**

• Thank you. I will read that article. As I use it I already see why it is not much fun. Now I am trying to take that select and use it as an update.

update table set field1 = exec('select ' + @objname + ' from myTable')

Back to the books!

• I don't mean to pick at this on you, but it sounds like you are a bit new at this and dynamic SQL is usually not a good place to start.  In fact, some would say it is a last resort.

Now I don't want to turn this thread into an argument about when to use dynamic SQL, but if you post a bit more about what you are really trying to do you may get some ideas of a better way of doing it.

Depending on the version of SQL server you are running and the application environment, you may be hurting performance or security without cause.

Lot's of people here are willing to offer solutions.

• AJ,