Want to trace what transactions happend in database during certain time

• Dear All,

One of the report in my website was showing 20 records in the afternoon (which was wrong - 17 records were old and not supposed to be shown in report). Now its showing me only 3 reocrds which is correct.

I want to find out what has happend in the afternoon..

How can I trace it..? How will I use LOG file for this purpose..? (I have never worked with LOG file before...)

Please help....

Thanks,

Santhosh Nair.

• Unless you have some form of auditing already in place, you won't be able to see what happened. The error log just stored details of errors and informational messages.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Can you explain a bit more in detail (Auditing).

So that I will take all the precautions and

have some clue atleast henceforth.

Thanks..

Santhosh.

• You need to decide what you want to audit. There's no automatic way to do it.

If you want to see all queries executed, that means some form of profiler trace. If you want to see changes to a table, it probably requires a trigger.

First decide what the purpose of the auditing is, what you want to audit, and then consider how you want to do it.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • You might be able to get that data out of the transaction log. You'll need a log parser for that. Lumigent and ApexSQL both have log parsing products.

As for auditing and logs and all that, these two articles have data on that: