What Steps Woud You Take: Inserting 200,000 records

• Hello guys,

I'm a novice. I need to create a stored procedure to insert 200,000 records into an existing table from a staging table in the same db. (The table has about 6 columns. It has a composite primary key and two non-clustered indexes and one default constraint.) I've read lot of articles online. The information seems overwhelming or complex. The data is not critical. We will likely insert the first 200,000 or less records and after that there will be much less like 10,000 or so additional records.

Outside of doing an INSERT INTO table (columns) SELECT.... statement, what might i use?
    -  Should i use BULK INSERT? (This, i understand if only for loading flat files.)
    -  Should i right a query that  breaks the data into batches of  5,000, 10,000, 50,000 records?
    What are  some basic things that i can do?

Thanks!

• Use INSERT...SELECT.  You can do it all in one go, or you can break it into batches if you're worried about blowing your transaction log or locking too many rows or grabbing too much memory.

John

• Thanks!  I found this:

DECLARE@rc INT = 1;

WHILE@rc > 0

BEGIN

BEGIN TRANSACTION;

INSERT dbo.target(cols)

SELECT TOP (5000) cols

FROM dbo.source AS s

WHERE NOT EXISTS

(

SELECT 1 FROM dbo.target AS t

WHERE t.key = s.key

)

ORDER BY clustering_key;

SET @rc = @@ROWCOUNT;

COMMIT TRANSACTION;

END

• Unless the rows are insanely wide, a 200,000 row insert is pretty much a cake walk for your initial insert.  And, it can be done using "Minimal Logging", which not only makes it easy on the log file but also nearly doubles the speed.

1. Take a log file backup.
    2.  Set the database to "Bulk Logged" if it's in the FULL recovery model.  This will NOT break the log file chain.
    3.  Disable (NOT drop) the non-clustered indexes on the target table.  Leave the clustered index enabled.