Which PK Generation system variable is reliable?

• [font="Verdana"][font="Verdana"][/font]

I am new to sql server and I need you suggestions:

which one is the best for PK generation(@@IDENTITY, SCOPE_IDENTITY, and IDENT_CURRENT ). If i have transactions like this.

begin tran

Insert into customer(id,fname,lname) (4,'sameer','dutts')

@cid=SCOPE_IDENTITY --cid will be 4

Insert into address (adrsid,customerid,'addressvalue')(1,4,'dutts')

end tran for such transactions what identity variable we should use.

Pls let me know.

Thanks for the Help. [/font]

• First - a little clarification: none of the items you mentioned are "PK Generation system" for several reasons. First - they don't GENERATE squat: they report on IDENTITY values that were just created. And 2 - they don't technically have anything to do with Primary Keys: just because they identity column might happen to be also set to be the primary key doesn't have any bearing on their function, nor does their behavior change if the Identity column happens to NOT be the Primary Key.

That being said - in most cases, the SCOPE_IDENT is the most useful in my experience. Because it stays limited to the current scope (meaning your execution context), you should have a pretty good idea of what table the identity value is from (since you're "in charge" of the execution process, you should know what might have last done an insert within this execution thread).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part...unless you're my manager...or a director and above...or a really loud-spoken end-user..All right - what was my emergency again?

• Thanks for your valuable response.I have mentioned the inserts into customer and then address table. Will it be accurate to add customerid in address table after getting it from scope_identity() within begin tran end tran. Pls let me know.