Wikipedia comment about denormalization

• Hi,

I came across this in Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_normalization#Denormalization

It has never been proven that this denormalization itself provides any increase in performance, or if the concurrent removal of data constraints is what increases the performance. The need for denormalization has waned as computers and RDBMS software have become more powerful.

What do you make of this? I am not experienced when it comes to design OLAP database but I am wondering, if it has never been proven why all OLAP database I have seen were denormalized and why people are mostly preaching 'star schema' for DW design?

Thoughts?

• got some comments on this on dbforums

http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.php?p=6333362#post6333362

• Its Wikipedia. People can post their opinions as facts anytime they want to.

It is however an absolute fact that Denormalization can, in some cases, dramatically improve performance and that has nothing to do with removing constraints.

[font="Times New Roman"]-- RBarryYoung[/font], [font="Times New Roman"] (302)375-0451[/font] blog: MovingSQL.com, Twitter: @RBarryYoung[font="Arial Black"]
    Proactive Performance Solutions, Inc.
    [/font]
    [font="Verdana"] "Performance is our middle name."[/font]

• Denormalizing the database will improve query performance simply because it has less number of joins. The more the joins, worse is the query performance. That's why most of the DW designs prefer denormalization.

Warm Regards,
    Neel aka Vijay.

• I've found that there's a "tipping" point between the performance gains realized in denormalizing information and joining for the same information. If the denormalization results in millions of rows, the joins (provided they're properly written and indexed) will frequently outpace denormalization for performance.

The real answer is (like anything else), "It depends".