Revision Control Software

• I've used Visual Source Safe in the past, but I think the only version of that we have where I am now is VSS6. I'm hoping to get a system that will allow us to store table and view definitions, stored procedures, ssis packages, dts packages and more. We're using SQL Server 2008 R2, but have some SQL Server 2000 legacy packages that we want to keep in storage.

Does anyone have something they'd recommend? Something you'd stay away from?

--------------------------------------
    When you encounter a problem, if the solution isn't readily evident go back to the start and check your assumptions.
    It’s unpleasantly like being drunk.
    What’s so unpleasant about being drunk?
    You ask a glass of water. -- Douglas Adams

• Stefan Krzywicki (6/22/2011)

Something you'd stay away from?

Visual Source Safe 😀

I've been using CVS and SVN for many years and they work like a charm. Red-Gate SQL source control[/url] works well with both.

You can also integrate your Windows shell with TortoiseCVS/SNV and manage the repository very easily.

Hope this helps!

Gianluca

-- Gianluca Sartori

• Gianluca Sartori (6/22/2011)

Stefan Krzywicki (6/22/2011)

Something you'd stay away from?

Visual Source Safe 😀

I've been using CVS and SVN for many years and they work like a charm. Red-Gate SQL source control[/url] works well with both.

You can also integrate your Windows shell with TortoiseCVS/SNV and manage the repository very easily.

Hope this helps!

Gianluca

Great, gives me a place to start my research.

Why do you dislike VSS? I know a lot of people bitch about it.

When you encounter a problem, if the solution isn't readily evident go back to the start and check your assumptions.

• If it is within my power, I shall. I don't get to make the final selection though and may have to live with it.