Using built-in sql backup vs third party backup ex) Backup exec

• Hi:

I'm pretty new to SQL and have some questions re: SQL backups.

If you're using Backup Exec to backup the SQL server, is there a reason to use the SQL server's built-in backup? How do people normally do this if they have a third party backup software.

Thank you.

• Which 3rd party utility do you have? Some take the place of the native backup, Some don't.

The native backup utility works great and is nearly flawless. Some of the third party solutions add value with compression or encryption.

• Hi,

Most of them prefer SQL server native backup, since you dont need to pay additional cost for taking backup.

If you are moving for third party backup tool you need to spend additional money and they provide compression, encrypt on backup so the time taken and the space used will be reduced. I have mentioned some of the backup tool

SQL Backup -- Backup tool from Red-gate

Litespeed [/url]-- Backup tool from Quest

• Thanks for your replies.

We use Veritas Backup Exec.

So this would replace the native SQL backup then? Is this what the others would normally do if they have a third party backup software, they'd just use this instead using it in addition to the native SQL backup?

• If you are having third party software, then you can rely on this since it has some features compared to native backup.

• Veritas centralizes many of your backups, but are you going to tape or disk with Veritas? I've had problems before with Veritas and Seagate's drivers in restoring databases, so be sure that you practice this and you're sure it works 95% of the time.

The third parties I've been comfortable with are Quest's Litespeed and Red Gate's SQL Backup (I work for Red Gate).

You might not have a choice, but even with Veritas, I might use Native backups. If you're going to tape directly, I'd run a disk backup as well every night and keep it handy. Never know what being able to pull back data from disk would help.